What is Golden Visa Portugal?

Golden Visa Portugal is the most attractive citizenship program by investment or residence by investment in Europe and it is possible to live in Portugal and subsequently obtain Portuguese citizenship.

ARI – Residence Permit for Investment Activity

Officially called the ARI (Residence Permit for Investment Activity), the Golden Visa, or Gold Visa, is today Europe’s most successful investment residency program.

One of the main advantages of Golden Visa in Portugal is that its “stay requirement” is very low. Thus, you will only need to spend 7 days in the first year, and 14 days in subsequent years (consecutive or non-consecutive days) in Portugal.

So if you want to have access to the benefits of living in the European Union, without having to live permanently in Portugal, it will all be easier.

Main benefits of Golden Visa Portugal

  • Freedom to live or travel freely, without a visa, in the Schengen Zone which includes 26 European countries
  • After five years, the holder of the ARI (Gold Visa) may apply for Portuguese citizenship. Your dependent children and parents will also qualify for the same benefits
  • You only need to spend 7 days in the first year and 14 days in subsequent years in Portugal (consecutively or not consecutively)
  • The program is not blacklisted by the OECD – Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, unlike many other Golden Visa programs
  • You can opt for the non-habitual resident tax regime in Portugal and pay little or no tax for 10 years
  • You can choose from a variety of relatively affordable investment options
  • Has the security of a second home in a safe and stable country
  • Freedom of opportunity for you and your family

Access to the Schengen area and the Portuguese passport

From the moment you have your Golden Visa authorization in hand, it will be registered in the central system of the Schengen Treaty Area. Therefore, you will have free access in all European countries, without the need for an additional visa.

Currently, 26 countries are part of the Schengen Agreement. They are: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Netherlands, Hungary, Italy, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Malta, Norway, Luxembourg, Poland, Portugal, Republic Czech, Sweden and Switzerland. There are countries that are part of the European Union but that are not in the treaty, and others that are part of the Schengen Agreement but that are not part of the European Union. There are also countries like Romania, Croatia, Bulgaria and Cyprus that are in the process of joining the agreement.

Gonçalo Forjaz

Real Estate Agent

Gonçalo Forjaz
Coldwell Banker Luxus
Cascais| Portugal

Av 25 de Abril, 1097 – 12F

Contact me for more properties

Including detailed information about the Golden Visa Program

Compare listings